Pre-registration is required for in-person services and events.

Register here.   Questions? Fill out our  contact form.

The small community with a big heart.

We are an open and welcoming progressive Reform Jewish community serving Southern Westchester and the Northern Bronx.

entrance of Sinai Free Synagogue
rabbi and cantor leading shabbat service
teens in a group hug
people gathered in a sukkah
SFS Zoom Hero
Tashlich sized 2

What’s on the calendar?

See what’s happening now, then browse our full calendar of programs and services.

Loading Events

Upcoming Events

List of Events

Current Events Sacred Gathering

Thursday, January 20 @3:00pm-4:00pm

Join us for a lively discussion.

Special Sacred Gathering on Russia/Ukraine Conflict

Friday, January 21 @3:00pm-4:00pm

Alex Bayer, economist, scholar, and author, will discuss the Russia/Ukraine conflict.

Yoga Shabbat Service – Poses in Prayer

Friday, January 21 @7:30pm-9:00pm

Our own Reyna Gonzalez will accompany Cantor Amy Goldstein in leading this virtual prayer service. Reyna will use the Yogic mind-body connection to enhance calm, healing, and closeness with God. She will also chant during her postures, assisted with chanting and poses by Cantor Amy. Please wear comfortable clothing and bring a yoga mat and blanket for warmth. Seated and standing postures will be presented.

Torah Study

Saturday, January 22 @10:00am-11:30am
|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 10:00am on Saturday, repeating indefinitely

Rabbi Barzilai leads us in study of the week’s Torah portion. In addition to exploring the portion, he shares readings and ideas from Rabbis and scholars. Many of us are beginners, and no prior knowledge is required. All you need is a desire to listen, to think, and to learn. When you are comfortable, we encourage you to jump into the conversation and share your ideas.

Religious School

Sunday, January 23
|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on Sunday, September 26, 2021 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, October 3, 2021 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, October 17, 2021 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, October 24, 2021 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, November 7, 2021 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, November 14, 2021 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, November 21, 2021 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, December 5, 2021 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, December 12, 2021 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, December 19, 2021 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, January 16, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, January 23, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, January 30, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, February 6, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, February 13, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, March 6, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, March 13, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, March 20, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, March 27, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, April 3, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, April 24, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, May 1, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, May 8, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, May 15, 2022 at 12:00am

One event on Sunday, May 22, 2022 at 12:00am

Religious School, Grades K – 7 Click HERE to fill out a Contact Us form.

Special Edition Sacred Gathering – Israel Update

Wednesday, January 26 @3:00pm-4:00pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on Wednesday, January 19, 2022 at 3:00pm

One event on Wednesday, January 26, 2022 at 3:00pm

We will join our friend and tour guide, Gadi, at his Israel zoom update. We’ll hear what is currently happening in Israel. Everyone is invited to join! Click HERE to to sign up for our email list so we can send you the zoom links.

Film Society Discussion: “Edge of the City”

Wednesday, January 26 @7:30pm-8:30pm

The SinaiFree Film Society will discuss the film "Edge of the City." This film fulfills the mission of the Film Society: To discuss films on Jewish topics and themes, as well as ones that address values important to us as members of the broader community.   Telling the story of a dock worker who faces intimidation by a corrupt boss, it stars John Cassavetes and Sidney Poitier. We will be honoring the immense contributions of Poitier as an artist and civil…

“Holy Sparks” Shabbat: Helping Afghani Refugee Families

Friday, January 28 @7:30pm-9:00pm

Jewish Values in Action: The Effort to Help Afghani Refugee Families and How We Can Help Marti Michael is our guest speaker. Marti is working with the Westchester Jewish Coalition for Immigration (WJCI) to support Afghani refugee families. Marti helped pivot the mission of the WJCI from advocacy to hands-on help. She works to form Host Groups in the Westchester Jewish community, which will sponsor the families, getting them off the military base (Ft. Dix) and into their first home…

Torah Study

Saturday, January 29 @10:00am-11:30am
|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 10:00am on Saturday, repeating indefinitely

Rabbi Barzilai leads us in study of the week’s Torah portion. In addition to exploring the portion, he shares readings and ideas from Rabbis and scholars. Many of us are beginners, and no prior knowledge is required. All you need is a desire to listen, to think, and to learn. When you are comfortable, we encourage you to jump into the conversation and share your ideas.

+ Export Events

Be Inspired, Connect

Sinai Free Synagogue is a Jewish center of active inspirational living, learning, spirituality, and culture for individuals and families of diverse backgrounds, traditions, and values.

rabbi and cantor leading a service
kids doing a food craft activity

Show Your Support

Like many nonprofit institutions, Sinai Free Synagogue does not cover its operating expenses through member financial commitments alone. We count on your generosity to help ensure that cost is never a barrier to becoming a member or a child attending Religious School.

children's choir performing
father and son packing lunches
Rabbi Mo Square
Cantor Amy Square

Our Spiritual Leaders

Rabbi Morris Barzilai and Cantor Amy Goldstein strive to teach Jewish values by touching people’s lives, showing them that someone truly cares, and that Judaism has much to offer.